Posted in United States

October is National Stamp Collecting Month

Since 1981, the month of October has been celebrated as National Stamp Collecting Month in the United States and Canada. November is National Stamp Collecting Month in the Philippines.

I began collecting stamps around the age of nine years old; counting a few breaks for other pursuits (girls, music, travel to name but three), I estimate that I have been involved in the hobby for a little more than 30 years. I’ve been collecting postcards for nearly as long! I feel that the hobbies of philately (stamps) and deltiology (postcards) compliment each other.

I promote the hobbies whenever and wherever I can these days, having begun collecting again following my move to Thailand more than a decade ago.

I wonder if there’s a National Postcard Collecting Month somewhere? If not, there certainly should be!

Author:

I'm an American currently living and teaching English in Phuket, Thailand. I like to read, write, take photographs, and collect stamps. You can read about all of these things and more on my three blogs: Asian Meanderings, http://jochim.wordpress.com "Please, Mr. Postman!", https://markspostcards.wordpress.com Philatelic Pursuits, http://philatelicpursuits.wordpress.com . Cheers!

Leave a Reply

