Posted in Sweden, Thailand

Map Cards from Sweden & Phuket

Sweden - Gothenberg - 2016-001a

Recently, I’ve started to organize some direct postcard trades through various groups on Facebook.  The first of these to arrive happens to be my first-ever card from Sweden!  This card pictures a wonderfully drawn map of the Nordic country as was sent from Daniella in the township of Kållered, just 10 kilometers south of the capitol city of Göteborg.  Daniella was a bit concerned that I wouldn’t like the fact that the card wasn’t handwritten, but I perfectly understand the reason.  Actually, it was nice to receive such a neatly printed card as I often have difficulty reading handwriting (even my own!).

Sweden - Gothenberg - 2016-001b (e)

Postcards picturing flags or maps are definitely among my favorites, especially when they both appear on the same card!  I do prefer the “cartoon” style of map cards with characters, buildings, etc. drawn in to reward careful examination.  Most of my recent outgoing postcards have featured a similar map of Phuket Island, including the one I sent to Daniella.  If only Phuket had it’s own flag that could be added to such a card…

Phuket, Thailand - Map 001

Author:

I'm an American currently living and teaching English in Phuket, Thailand. I like to read, write, take photographs, and collect stamps. You can read about all of these things and more on my three blogs: Asian Meanderings, http://jochim.wordpress.com "Please, Mr. Postman!", https://markspostcards.wordpress.com Philatelic Pursuits, http://philatelicpursuits.wordpress.com . Cheers!

Leave a Reply

