Posted in Poland

PL-1019058: Katowice, Poland

Postcrossing - White bg

Scan_20150228 (1)

Postcrossing ID:  PL-1019058
Date Sent:  7 February 2015
Date Received:  28 February 2015
Days Travelled:  24
Distance Travelled: 8,560 km

Yesterday – 28 February – after a period during which I worried that my mail was disappearing – I discovered a rubber-banded bundle of postcards on my guesthouse’s front desk.  It was the most cards I’d received in a single day since moving to Thailand; there were eleven in all, seven of which were official Postcrossing cards and the remainder were from participants in the 2015 A Month Of Letters Challenge.  Oddly, all of the Postcrossing cards – except for this one from Poland – were mailed from various locations throughout Europe on the exact same day, 4 February.  I’m still not certain if my local postman is not delivering mail enough I have “enough” to make it worthwhile but things like this do make me wonder. 

In summary, there were cards from Belarus (a “new” country for me and I received two yesterday), Poland, Netherlands, two from Germany, Czech Republic, France, Australia, and two from the United States.  In scanning and writing about these, I doubt I’ll be able to maintain my regular “blog-per-day” schedule as the end of the school year is rapidly approaching and most of my time is occupied with creating final exams and other assessments for my students.  Thus, there may be a short break in my postings (no more than a day or two unless I get really bogged down!).

The card above arrived from the city of Katowice and features traditional Polish pottery from Bolestawiec in the Silesia region.  The durable and functional creamy white and blue stoneware are easily identifiable and have been one of the premier art forms in Eastern Europe for centuries.  Bolestawiec itself is often called Miastro Ceramiki, or the “town of ceramics”.  Pottery has been produced in the area for more than a thousand years and the first written record of a potter here occurs in municipal books dating from 1380.  Today, all authentic Bolestawiec pottery has a “Hand made in Poland” stamp on the bottom and is white or cream colored ceramic with dark blue, green, yellow, brown, and sometimes red or purple motifs.  The most common designs include dots, abstract florals, speckles, “windmills”, and the favorite “peacock’s eye”.  They are sold throughout the world for everyday use in the kitchen as well as collectibles.

Scan_20150228 (2)

Leave a Reply

