Posted in Netherlands

NL-2072544: Alkmaar, Netherlands

Postcrossing - White bg

Scan_20141216 (25)-edit

Postcrossing ID: NL-2072544
Date Sent: 19 September 2013
Date Received: 2 October 2013
Days Travelled:  13
Distance Travelled:  9,506 km 

This Postcrossing card was sent from Arnhem in eastern Netherlands but depicts the city of Alkmaar, famous for its traditional cheese market.  The earliest mention of the name is in a tenth century document and it was granted city rights in 1254.  The city successfully withstood a Spanish siege in 1573 which was a turning point in the Eighty Years War; the event is celebrated annually on 8 October, the day the siege ended.  Alkmaar was captured by an Anglo-Russian expeditionary force during the French revolutionary wars in 1799 but was defeated in the Battle of Castricum.  The cheese market at the Waagplein is one of the Netherland’s most popular tourist attractions, occurring every Friday morning from the first Friday in April until the first Friday in September.  The city is also contains a museum dedicated to The Beatles (John Lennon’s first guitar was made here) as well as the National Beer Museum.

Scan_20141216 (24)

Scan_20141216 (26)-edit

2 thoughts on “NL-2072544: Alkmaar, Netherlands

  1. Beautiful card! I’m new to Postcrossing. I have only received two cards so far.

    I can’t wait to get more! I wish my area sold postcards. But I’m from a small, not very busy area. I checked within a 30 mile radius with no luck. I ended up having to make my own with my photography. I feel like most people don’t like homemade postcards and would prefer something store bought. 😦

    Like

Leave a Reply

