Posted in Malaysia

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia – Petronas Towers

Postcards-Malaysia 005

In late January 2007, I needed to go on one final visa run prior to starting a job at a large international school here in Phuket.  Due to a promotion by Air Asia, I found that it would be less expensive to fly to Kuala Lumpur than to use my usual 12-hours of minivan torture to Burma and back.  I had a nice evening flight south and slept in the airport.  Early in the morning, I took the train into the city (about a 50km ride) in order to arrive at the Petronas Towers in time for one of the free tickets to the sky-bridge level.  Following my sightseeing venture, I made it back to the airport in plenty of time to make my flight back to Thailand.

Postcards-Malaysia 001

I bought three postcards from the ticket kiosk in the Petronas Towers’ basement.  They all have the same caption (see below).  I mailed one back to myself; I can’t remember if I mailed it from the train station or the airport – the postmark says “BB Bangi”.

Postcards-Malaysia 003

Completed in 1996, the 88-storey PETRONAS Twin Towers stand tall at 452 meters above street level.  Located in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, the structures are currently the tallest twin towers in the world.  The Towers are a significant landmark symbolising this progressive, modern city and representing the pride of the nation.
Photo by Alex Tim

Postcards-Malaysia 004

2 thoughts on “Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia – Petronas Towers

Leave a Reply

